|
Chinese Newspapers:
1,508 titles published between
October 1949 and now and 1,235 current
titles collected (Available in Room 4108,
Chinese Newspapers Reading Room)
Chinese
Journals: 19,915 titles
published between October 1949 and now and
8,574 current titles collected (Journals in
social sciences are available in Room 3202,
Chinese Social Sciences Periodicals Reading
Room. Journals in science & technology are
available in Room 3302, Chinese Science &
Technology Periodicals Reading Room).
Chinese Books:
2,420,050 volumes collected since
October 1949. (Books in social sciences are
available in Room 4202, Chinese Social
Sciences Books Reading Room; books in
science & technology are available in Room
4302, Chinese Science & Technology Books
Reading Room)
Ancient Chinese Books:
This collection consists of over
1,700,000 volumes, among which 25,000 titles
and 170,000 volumes are rare books, 2,256
titles and 13,526 volumes are classified as
national-level collections. In addition,
there are 5,400 titles and 90,000 volumes of
local gazetteers and over 8,000 titles and
10,000 volumes Zhujuan from Qing Dynasty.
These books are available in Room 1210,
Ancient Chinese Books Reading Room.
Epigraphs and Rubbing:
This collection has 150,000 pieces in total,
among which 2,182 titles and 3,142 volumes
are rare materials, and 44 volumes of
rubbings from Song Dynasty are classified as
national-level collection. There are also an
additional 100 volumes of newly discovered
rare books.
Chinese Genealogy:
This collection has over 12,000
titles and over 100,000 volumes of Chinese
family pedigrees, covering 329 family names
from 22 provinces. They are available in
Room 1213, Genealogy Reading Room.
Old Paperback Books:
This collection has 140,000 titles
and 330,000 volumes of cataloged items,
among which 28,000 titles are national
unique books. There are also 510,000 volumes
need to be cataloged. These books are
available in Room 1110, Modern Document
Reading Room.
Modern
Newspapers:
This collection consists of 3,543 titles of
newspapers published between 1850 and
October 1949,among which 92 titles are in
foreign languages published in the Shanghai
area. They are available in the room 1110,
Modern Document Reading Room.
Modern Periodicals:
This collection consists of cataloged
journals published between 1868 and October
1949 in a total number of 18,733 titles and
350,000 volumes (19,530 entries in the
catalog index). It features a complete
collection of such valuable literature
journals as Yinghuan Suoji, Yinghuan
Pictorial, and Oriental Magazine. They are
available in Room1110, Modern Document
Reading Room.
Old Books in Foreign Languages: This
collection has over 500,000 volumes of books
in foreign languages published by the end of
1949. These books are printed in Latin,
Greek, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch,
English, French and German. There are 80,000
volumes of antique Japanese books in
collection as well.
Maps:
This collection holds over
14,000 pieces of maps. Quite a few of them
are exclusive or rare, such as the layout
plan of the British Concession in 1855, the
Map of Shanghai American and British Public
Concession (1864-1865), and the Kun Yu Quan
Tu edited by Nan Huai-ren in late Ming
dynasty.
Shanghai Local Collection: This
collection features 8,454 volumes of
historical documents on Shanghai published
after 1985, and 21,429 historical
photographs of Shanghai. They are available
in Room 1102.
Newspapers in Foreign Languages: This
collection has 377 titles of newspapers (77
current) in foreign languages. They are
available on the forth floor, Foreign
Newspaper Reading Room.
Journals in Foreign Languages: This
collection has 19,564 titles of journals
(6,131 current) in foreign languages. They
are available on the fourth floor Foreign
Periodicals Reading Room.
Books
in Foreign Languages: This collection
holds over 561,000 volumes of books in
foreign languages by the end of 2000. They
are available on the fourth floor, Foreign
Books & Proceedings Room.
Electronic Publications: There are 65
databases on CD-ROM and 11 network databases
in this collection. They are available on
the fourth floor, Room 3402.
Braille Materials:
There are 41 titles and 107 volumes
of Chinese Braille books and 157 titles of
audiocassettes in this collection. They are
available on the first floor, General
Reading Room Braille area.
Patents Documents: By the end of
2000, this collection has 29,014,546 pieces
of patents from countries and regions such
as the United States, France, the United
Kingdom, Japan, Switzerland, Russia, China
and Taiwan as well as European and
International patents. They are available on
the third floor, Room 1315, Patents
Standards & Technical Reports Room.
Technical
Standards Documents: By the end of
2000, this collection holds over 313,314
pieces of documents covering industrial
standards from Germany, France, the United
Kingdom, Russia, Japan, Australia and the
United States and those from select
international organizations and trade
associations, the International electronic
Standards, International Standards, Chinese
International Standards and trade standards.
They are available on the third floor, Room
1315, Patents Standards & Technical Reports
Room.
Science
& Technology Reports: By the end of
2000, this collection has a total number of
1,884,570 copies of American PB, AD, NASA,
and DE reports. They are available on the
third floor, Room 1315, Patents Standards &
Technical Reports Room.
Product Stylebook:
This collection holds 11,540 volumes of
Chinese and foreign product stylebooks. They
are available on the fourth floor, Arts and
Design Product Catalogs Room.
Audio & Video Materials: This
collection has 196,814 pieces of Chinese and
foreign Audio & Video material by the end of
2000. They are available on the third floor,
Room 5315, No.2 Audio-visual Reading Room,
Audio-visual Auditorium, and Musical
Material Reading Room. |
|