First Floor <Catalog Hall>

 
 
<% dim a dim b b=pageid*psize if num-b < 0 Then b=num else end if for a=((pageid-1)*psize+1) to b %> <% rs.movenext next %>
<% dim a dim b b=pageid*psize if num-b < 0 Then b=num else end if for a=((pageid-1)*psize+1) to b %> <% rs.movenext next %>
  · iPac (Internet Public Access Catalog)

Floor

First floor

No. Of  Seats 38 computers

Collections

The iPac leads to a mega-database of bibliographic records held by Shanghai Library, the Shanghai Central Library System members and the service points where the "One-card-through" services are avaiable, which contains 1.9 million Chinese/English-language book and periodical titles and special holdings, and 7 million duplicate titles.

Open Hours

8:30--16:30   Monday - Sunday
9:00--15:30  The national holidays
  · Self-service Area

Floor

First floor

No. Of  Seats

14 computers

Library Card Requirement

Reference reading function,
R
eference borrowing function

Open  Hours

  9:00--16:30  Tuesday-Sunday
13:30--16:30   Monday
  9:00--15:30  The national holidays

  · Chinese Monographs & Periodicals Circulation Room(4105)

Floor

First floor

Collections

Monographs (published in last 5 years), and periodicals (within 1 year)

Services

Open-shelf & circulation

Library Card Requirement

General Borrowing Function

Open Hours

13:30--20:30  Monday afternoon
  8:30--20:3 Tuesday-Sunday
  9:00--16:00  The national holidays

 · Chinese Multimedia Newspapers Reading Room(4108)

Floor

First floor

No. Of  Seats

132

Collections

Daily newspapers, evening newspapers, economic and sport newspapers and television news from all over China. Yellowpage of Shanghai.

Services

1. iPAC catalog search
2.
National Abstract of Serials & Chinese News Abstract search

Library Card Requirement

general reading function,or senior ID (for elder than 70).

Open Hours

 8:30--20:30 Monday -Sunday
 9:00--16:00 National Holiday

  · General Reading Room(3102)

Floor

First floor

No. Of  Seats

112including 32 new soft seats

Collections

Modern Chinese newspapers, periodicals, monographs (including items published in Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan Region), patents, standards, and reports.

Services

Requesting collections from main book depository, book reservation, and interlibrary loan. Select Chinese monographs (published since 1974) and foreign monographs (published in last 5 years) are available for circulation.

Library Card Requirement

Reference reading function,
R
eference borrowing function,
or senior ID

Open Hours   9:00--17:00  Monday-Sunday
  9:00--16:00  National Holiday


 First Floor <Modern Document>

· Modern Document Reading Room(1110)

Floor

First floor

No. Of  Seats

56

Collections

Contemporary Chinese and foreign newspapers, monographs & periodicals

Services

Collections in book depository are to be requested at the Circulation Desk. Select photocopied monographs are open-shelf.

Library Card Requirement

Reference reading function,
R
eference borrowing function,
or senior ID

Open  Hours

8:30--17:00   Monday -Saturday
9:00--16:00  The national holidays

· Shanghai Local Collection Reading Room(1102)

Floor

First floor

No. Of  Seats

18

Collections

Monographs, local gazetteers and yearbooks on politics, economy, history and culture in districts, counties and townships of Shanghai area.

Services

Open-shelf

Library Card Requirement

general reading function,or senior ID

Open  Hours

8:30--17:00   Monday -Saturday
9:00--16:00  The national holidays